Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the ACP office is closed to the public as our staff work remotely. Click here to see how this impacts our programs and operations.

2020 Future of Pharmacy: Klaudia Zabrzenski

Klaudia Zabrzenski
ACE Program Lead
Mint Health + Drugs

The Future of Pharmacy Award is awarded to up to three pharmacists per year who have been in practice less than five years and who exhibit strong leadership skills, the initiative to become a role model, and offer extraordinary promise to the profession.

One of this year’s recipients, Klaudia Zabrzenski, graduated with distinction from the Faculty of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences at the University of Alberta in 2016. In her last year of pharmacy school, she co-developed the framework for a unique pharmacist-led outreach model, which led to the creation of the Adherence and Community Engagement (ACE) Team. Klaudia and her team consistently work to build the concept of a pharmacist-led outreach model of care for vulnerable individuals who are medically complex and considered lost to care. ACE brings care to people where they are in the community, recognizing the barriers that can exist in accessing conventional healthcare for those living with homelessness, substance use disorders, HIV, hepatitis C, and mental health disorders. In addition to her work on the ACE Team, Klaudia is also involved with providing presentations and workshops to undergraduate pharmacy students at the University of Alberta.

“In addition to being a leader, Klaudia is a caring pharmacist and team member and embodies the principle of person-centred care in everything she does,” said Dr. Christine Hughes, professor at the University of Alberta and clinical pharmacist at the Northern Alberta HIV Program.

“She has an innate ability to challenge and question conventional models of care, always focusing on the patient experience and how to create solutions that work to better address patient needs,” said Kit Poon, Director of Mint Health + Drugs, who co-nominated Klaudia for this award.