MINUTES

Alberta College of Pharmacy Special Meeting of Council

August 17, 2023

Facilitated In-Person and Virtually

1. Call to Order

President Zachar called the meeting to order at 5:33 p.m. He recognized the territorial and ancestral lands of indigenous people in Alberta. He welcomed ACP's legal counsel Annabritt Chisholm with Shores Jardine, LLP.

2. Roll Call

Registrar Eberhart called the roll call and confirmed the attendance of the following council members. A quorum of council was declared.

- District 1 Peter Macek
- District 2 Patrick Zachar (President)
- District 3 Murtaza Hassanali
- District 4 James Frobb (Executive-Member-at-Large)
- District 5 Patrick Thomson
- District A Laura Miskimins
- District B Nina Dueck
- Public Member Christine Maligec
- Public Member Carmen Wyton
- Public Member Irene Pfeiffer (Past-President)
- Public Member Deb Manz (President-Elect)
- Public Member Jason West

Absent:

• Public Member - Jane Wachowich

Also in attendance:

- Greg Eberhart Registrar
- Kaye Moran Deputy Registrar
- Leslie Ainslie Executive Assistant
- Annabritt Chisholm, Shores Jardine LLP ACP Legal Counsel

3. Approval of the Agenda

MOTION: to approve the agenda as circulated.

Moved by Christine Maligec/Seconded by Deb Manz/CARRIED

4. Amendments to the Rules of the Structured Practical Training Program

Council reviewed proposed amendments to registration policies relevant to the registration of internationally educated pharmacist graduates (IEPGs). The proposed amendments respond to government initiatives and concerns expressed about the existing registration requirements, with a goal of reducing potential barriers to registration for IEPGs.

ACP will continue to monitor the impact of these changes and to what extent other changes may be considered. These and other potential changes will provide guidance to the Registrar in fulfilling their responsibilities under the *Health Professions Act* when considering applications from IEPGs. ACP will also continue to work with the Faculty of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences at the University of Alberta to facilitate changes to the Certificate to Canadian Pharmacy Practice (CCPP) program to increase flexibility for applicants.

MOTION: to support ACP administration to take steps to amend registration policies relevant to IEPGs by:

- removing the requirement for enrollment in the Certificate to Canadian Pharmacy Practice program before admission to the provisional pharmacist register;
- enabling the Registrar to admit an IEPG to the provisional register if they have successfully completed one of the following; the Pharmacy Examining Board of Canada Qualifying Examination Part I (MCQ); the Pharmacy Examining Board of Canada Qualifying Examination Part II (OSCE); or the Certificate to Canadian Pharmacy Practice program;
- removing the requirement for IEPGs to have an experienced preceptor to complete the Structured Practical Training Program for provisional pharmacists.
- no earlier than June of 2024, enabling the Registrar to consider an IEPG's application as equivalent for registration on the clinical pharmacist register; and acceptance as an alternative to completion of the CCPP program, if evidence is provided that the applicant successfully completed a Doctor of Pharmacy program in the United States that is accredited by the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education, or the applicant successfully completed the Pharmacy Examining Board of Canada Qualifying Examinations (Part I and Part II) on their first attempt.

These amendments recognize the responsibility of the Registrar under Part 2 of the Health Professions Act and are meant to provide guidance when considering and fulfilling these responsibilities.

Moved by Irene Pfeiffer/Seconded by Peter Macek/CARRIED

5. Appointment to the Competence Committee

Council considered a recommendation for appointment to the Competence Committee. Committee Member Shae-Lynn Sage served notice that she must resign due to personal matters and therefore recommendation was made to appoint Kortney Stanley who will serve the remainder of this term that will expire June 30, 2025.

MOTION: to repeal the appointment of Shae-Lynn Sage, and appoint Kortney Stanly to the Competence Committee, whose term will expire June 30, 2025.

Moved by **Deb Manz**/Seconded by **Christine Maligec**/CARRIED

6. Appointments to the Hearing Tribunal Pool

Further to Council's appointment of pharmacists and pharmacy technicians to the Hearing Tribunal Pool in June, three vacancies remained. Council considered recommendations to appoint the following regulated members and to repeal the appointment of Patrick Thomson, elected to Council in June therefore no longer eligible to serve on Hearing Tribunals.

MOTION: to appoint Mareiz Morcos, Dwain Nottebrock and Essi Salokangas to the Hearing Tribunal Pool for a three-year term, expiring June 30, 2026; and to repeal the appointment of Patrick Thomson.

Moved by Peter Macek/Seconded by James Frobb/CARRIED

7. Adjournment

MOTION: that the Special Meeting of Council adjourn circa 6:27 p.m. Moved by **Irene Pfeiffer**