MINUTES VIRTUAL MEETING OF COUNCIL ALBERTA COLLEGE OF PHARMACY Thursday June 27, 2024

1. Call to Order

President Zachar called the meeting to order at 7:02 p.m. He recognized the territorial and ancestral lands of Indigenous people in Alberta.

1.2 Roll Call

Registrar Eberhart called the roll and identified the following individuals in attendance.

- District 1 Peter Macek
- District 2 Patrick Zachar (President)
- District 3 Murtaza Hassanali
- District 4 James Frobb (Executive-Member-at-Large)
- District 5 Patrick Thomson
- District A Laura Miskimins
- District B Nina Dueck
- Public Member Christine Maligec
- Public Member Deb Manz (President-Elect)
- Public Member Carmen Wyton

Absent

- Public Member Irene Pfeiffer (Past-President)
- Public Member Jason West

Also in attendance

- Greg Eberhart Registrar
- Leslie Ainslie Executive Assistant

1.3 Approval of the Agenda

MOTION: to approve the agenda as circulated.

Moved by Christine Maligec/Seconded by Deb Manz/CARRIED

2. Executive Committee – Election of Members for the 2024-2025 Council Term

Nominating Committee Chairperson Deb Manz, submitted a report to Council on behalf of the Committee recommending candidates for election to the positions of President-elect and Executive-Member-at-Large for the 2024-2025 council term. The Nominating Committee is charged with presenting nominations to Council; therefore nominations were not sought from the floor. The Committee recommended the nomination of James Frobb and Patrick Thomson for the position of President-elect. The Committee also recommended Nina Dueck and the individual not election for President-elect, be nominated for the position of Executive-Member-at-Large. Council accepted the nominations for the position of President-elect and Executive-Member-at-Large. Upon the President-elect being declared, an election was held for the position of Executive-Member-at-Large.

Acting as returning office, Registrar Eberhart conducted the elections. Each candidate for President-elect addressed Council about their interest in pursuing the position, and why Council should support their nomination. Candidates were moved to a separate room in the meeting while the other candidate made their presentation. After both presentations, Council Members cast a ballot for their candidate of choice for the position of President-elect for the 2024-2025 council term. A similar process was undertaken for the election of the Executive-Member-at-Large position for the 2024-2025 council term.

MOTION: to accept the report from the Nominating Committee. Moved by **Christine Maligec**/Seconded by **Nina Dueck**/CARRIED

MOTION: to accept the nominations of the Nominating Committee for council members standing for election.

Moved by Carmen Wyton/Seconded by Laura Miskimins/CARRIED

MOTION: that the Governance Committee review the current factors used by the Nominating Committee to nominate Executive Committee members and recommend the criteria used. Moved by **Peter Macek**/Seconded by **Laura Miskimins**/CARRIED

MOTION: that Patrick Thomson be appointed as President-elect for the 2024-2025 council term. Moved by **Peter Macek**/Seconded by **Deb Manz**/CARRIED

MOTION: that James Frobb be appointed as Executive-Member-at-Large for the 2024-2025 council term.

Moved by **Deb Manz**/Seconded by **Nina Dueck**/CARRIED

3. Governance Committee - Appointments for the 2024-2025 Council Term -

The members of the Governance Committee includes:

- The President or, the President-Elect, or the Past-President; as designated by the President, to act as Chair of the Committee
- Three other voting members of Council, including a pharmacy technician, pharmacist, and a public member; to be served on alternating cycles to facilitate succession and continuity on the Committee.

Nina Dueck was appointed for a two-year term in 2023, expiring June 2025. Jason West was appointed for a three-year term in 2023, expiring June 2026. The Nominating Committee recommended that Patrick Thomson be appointed to the Governance Committee for a three-year term effective July 1, 2024-June 30, 2027. President-elect Deb Manz indicated her wish to serve as chair of the Governance Committee for the 2024-2025 council term.

MOTION: to appoint Patrick Thomson to the Governance Committee for a three-year term commencing July 1, 2024 and ending June 30, 2027.

Moved by Christine Maligec/Seconded by Murtaza Hassanali/CARRIED

4. Nominating Committee – Amendments to the Terms of Reference

The current membership on the Nominating Committee includes:

- 1. The President or, the President-Elect, or the Past-President; as designated by the President, to act as Chair of the Committee
- 2. The following committee members appointed by the Council:
 - a) two public members of Council;
 - b) one former elected member of Council:
 - c) if the Chair is a public member, one elected member of the Council; and
 - d) other regulated members that the Council considers advisable, if any.

Registrar Eberhart recommended that Section 2 of the Membership of the Nominating Committee be amended to be as follows. The reasons for the recommendation is to increase the number of

Council of the Alberta College of Pharmacy Meeting Minutes – June 27, 2024

regulated members on the Committee to identify potential applicants, and provide equal opportunity and flexibility.

- a) One public member of council
- b) Two elected members of council
- c) One former elected member of council, and
- d) other regulated members that the Council considers advisable, if any.

There must be at least one pharmacist and one pharmacy technician on the committee.

Council will appoint members of the Nominating Committee through a council e-Ballot during the summer.

MOTION: to approve the amendments to the Nominating Committee as presented. Moved by **Laura Miskimins**/Seconded by **Christine Maligec**/CARRIED

5.0 Hearing Tribunal Pool Appointments

There were three outstanding vacancies for pharmacists on the Hearing Tribunal Pool that were deferred at the June meeting of council. Registrar Eberhart recommended that the following pharmacists be appointed to the Hearing Tribunal Pool for the respective terms cited for each:

- Kory Sloan re-appointed for a second three-year term commencing July 1, 2024 and ending June 30, 2027.
- Hany Abdelhady be appointed for a three-year term commencing July 1, 2024 and ending June 30, 2027.
- Mimi Zhang be appointed for a three-year term commencing July 1, 2024 and ending June 30, 2027.

OMNIBUS MOTION: to re-appoint Kory Sloan to the Hearing Tribunal Pool for a second three-year term commencing July 1, 2024 and ending June 30, 2027, to appoint Hany Abdelhady to the Hearing Tribunal Pool for a three-year term commencing July 1, 2024 and ending June 30, 2027, and to appoint Mimi Zhang to the Hearing Tribunal for a three-year term commencing July 1, 2024 and ending June 30, 2027.

Moved by Carmen Wyton/Seconded by Peter Macek/CARRIED

6.0 Adjournment

MOTION: to adjourn the meeting of council circa 8:07 p.m. on June 27, 2024. Moved by **Christine Maligec**