Minutes Teleconference Meeting Council of Alberta College of Pharmacists February 1, 2018

1. Call to Order

President Couldwell called the meeting to order at 8:30 p.m.

2. Roll Call

Registrar Eberhart called the roll call, identifying the following members of Council in attendance and declaring that a quorum was present:

- District 1 Brad Willsey
- District 2 Peter Eshenko
- District 3 Rick Hackman
- District 3 Fayaz Rajabali
- District 4 Stan Dyjur (President-Elect)
- District 5 Brad Couldwell (President)
- District 5 Kamal Dullat (Executive Member At Large)
- District A Kelly Boparai
- District B Dana Lyons
- Al Evans Public Member
- Irene Pfeiffer Public Member
- Taciana Pereira Past President (Non-Voting)

Also in attendance:

- Greg Eberhart Registrar
- Kaye Moran Deputy Registrar
- Leslie Ainslie Executive Assistant

3. Approval of Agenda

MOTION: to approve the agenda as circulated. Moved by **Kamal Dullat**/Seconded by **Kelly Boparai**/CARRIED

4. Practice Permits and Pharmacy Licences

At the December council meeting, Council approved forms for the registrant practice permit and the pharmacy practice site licence, on the condition that it was technically feasible to do so concomitantly with the implementation of ACP's new information management system, Merlin. Upon further discussion with the Merlin team, it was determined that the form of practice permit and practice site licences approved in December were not technically feasible, resulting in a request that Council consider alternative versions of each.

1. Practice Permits – Registrants will be able to print a practice permit however, the official practice permit will only be viewable electronically through ACP's online register. The electronic view will be the most current, accurate and public facing alternative available. ACP will communicate the need to visit the online register as the official source of registration information through the communication strategy accompanying the implementation of Merlin.

2. Pharmacy Practice Site Licences – An electronic version of the licence will not be provided to the licensee at this time, however may be available for electronic uploading in the future. Only paper copies issued by the College will serve as the official document to ensure the authenticity and corporate look of the licence. This places the responsibility on the licensee to scan their licence for uploading to their website. The notice on the bottom of the licence will bring awareness that the public facing version of the licence on ACP's website will always be the most current and accurate.

MOTION: to rescind the motion from the December council meeting approving the forms of the annual practice permit and pharmacy licences because the solutions proposed are not technically feasible at this time.

Moved by Peter Eshenko/Seconded by Kamal Dullat/CARRIED

MOTION: to approve the form of annual practice permit and pharmacy practice site license as presented.

Moved by Kelly Boparai/Seconded by Rick Hackman/CARRIED

5. Bylaw Amendment Consultation – Section 23-Term of Office and Section 24-Extension of Term for President Elect

Elections to Council for the 2018-2019 council term begin March 12, 2018 and close April 12, 2018. Elections will be held in District 1 (Northern Alberta), District 3 (Edmonton), District A (Northern Alberta), and for two council members for District 5 (Calgary). Section 23 of the Bylaws addresses the term of office for Council Members. Section 24 of the Bylaws, provides for the extension of the term of office of the President-elect if it is up for election, and also addresses the declaration of winners in an election in District 3 (Edmonton) or District 5 (Calgary), where more than one Council position is being contested during a single election. This is the case in this year's Council election in District 5.

For the current election in District 5, a potential conflict exists in Sections 23 and 24 as Section 23 limits a Council Member to serve two, three-year terms for a total of 6 years on Council. Section 24 provides for the candidate receiving the most number of votes to receive a three-year term, while the candidate receiving the second most votes would serve a two-year term. In this instance, where the President is a candidate for election who has already served an extended term (4 years), and receives the most votes, it is not possible for them to serve another three-year term, as the maximum term of office for all Council Members is a total of 6 years.

Council reviewed the proposed amendments to the bylaws for the purpose of a 60 day consultation. The bylaw amendments will ensure that Council is clearly constituted. Consultation will commence imminently and will close in early April. Council will meet by teleconference April 9th or April 10th to consider the feedback received in order to approve amendments to the Bylaws in advance of the current election closing on April 12, 2018.

MOTION: to approve amendments to Section 24.3 of the Bylaws for the purpose of a 60 day consultation.

Moved by Kamal Dullat/Seconded by Peter Eshenko/CARRIED

6. Appointment - Signing Authority for Deputy Registrar Jeff Whissell

Registrar Eberhart requested that Council approve signing authority for Deputy Registrar Jeff Whissell. ACP requires two signatures on every cheque issued; and for cheques issued over \$15,000, one of those signatures must be that of the Registrar or a Deputy Registrar. Currently the following individuals have signing authority on behalf of the College: President Couldwell, Councillor Hackman, Registrar Eberhart, Deputy Registrar Moran, and ACP's Operations and Finance Director, Lynn Paulitsch. Signing authorities are appointed annually.

MOTION: That Deputy Registrar Jeff Whissell be granted signing authority on behalf of the College for the 2017-18 council term. All cheques require two signatures and for cheques issued over \$15,000, one of the two signatures must be that of the Registrar, Greg Eberhart, or the Deputy Registrars, Kaye Moran and Jeff Whissell." Moved by **Kelly Boparai**/Seconded by **Stan Dyjur**/CARRIED

7. Adjournment

MOTION: to adjourn the teleconference meeting of Council at 9:00 p.m. Moved by **Irene Pfeiffer**