Find a registrant or pharmacy

Find a registrant Find a pharmacy

Search the website

Help me with...

Recognize excellence!

October 18, 2011

It’s time to put pen to paper – or fingers to keyboards – and get those APEX Award nominations in.

Recognizing pharmacy professionals through the APEX Awards helps identify role models, celebrate great patient care, and raise the profile of pharmacy in Alberta. Consider nominating a colleague for one of the following awards.

There are seven categories to choose from – including one new one!


See the award categories:

M.J. Huston Pharmacist of Distinction honours a pharmacist who has consistently demonstrated outstanding professional excellence in the practice of pharmacy over time.


Award of Excellence pays tribute to an Alberta pharmacist for individual outstanding achievement in the field of pharmacy. This award is granted for a single unique accomplishment thus differing in this way from the Pharmacist of Distinction Award.


W.L. Boddy Pharmacy Team of the Year is presented to a pharmacy staff team in Alberta who, by virtue of their practice, positively impact the health of their community.

The Awards Committee will consider how the team incorporates factors such as staffing, workflow, staff training and development, policies and procedures, technology and innovative programs to offer excellent.


Future of Pharmacy is presented to up to three pharmacists per year who exude enthusiasm and passion for pharmacy, are visionary, and offer extraordinary promise to the profession.

The Awards Committee will consider how each nominee has developed peer networks, participated in educational opportunities and professional development, played a part in or developed new programs, and shown involvement in their community.


Partners in Practice recognizes a collaborative effort between a pharmacist and one or more other non-pharmacy health professionals to optimize patient care and/or safety.


Friend of Pharmacy is presented to a non-pharmacist who has contributed to the success of the profession of pharmacy.


Pfizer Consumer Healthcare Bowl of Hygeia celebrates a pharmacist who has compiled an outstanding record of community service that, apart from his/her specific identification as a pharmacist, reflects well on the profession.


Nominations must be received at the ACP office by Dec. 9, 2011.

The APEX (Alberta Pharmacy Excellence) Awards are jointly sponsored by the Alberta Pharmacists’ Association (RxA) and the Alberta College of Pharmacists.

View the awards’ terms of reference and nominate online or download the forms from the ACP website under About ACP/APEX Awards.