Find a registrant or pharmacy

Find a registrant Find a pharmacy

Search the website

Help me with...

Rosemary Bacovsky receives Honorary Life Membership

July 13, 2022
Rosemary was one of the earliest advocates for pharmacist prescribing in Alberta.

On June 8, 2022, at ACP’s Celebration of Leadership, retired pharmacist Rosemary Bacovsky was presented with the Honorary Life Membership award. The award is presented to a current or former regulated member who has, in the opinion of Council, rendered distinguished service to the practice of pharmacists or pharmacy technicians.

Rosemary has been a leader in the profession, including having served as president of the Canadian Society of Hospital Pharmacists both provincially (1987-88) and nationally (1985-86). She was also a council member with the Alberta Pharmaceutical Association (1986-88). Rosemary was one of the earliest advocates for an expanded scope of practice for pharmacists.

“My vision was pharmacists taking a proactive role in drug therapy management and with independent prescribing privileges,” said Rosemary.

After leading a grassroots initiative to lobby decision makers, Rosemary contributed to an ACP task force which developed a framework for pharmacist prescribing in Alberta. When she first began her career as a pharmacist, she never could have imagined the scope of practice the profession enjoys today.

To hear more from Rosemary, please watch our video.